About Us

A Brief History of The Trust

Registered in the Royal Court in January 1996 as a non-profit making organisation, the CTJ Housing Trust has grown from small beginnings to currently owning more than 143 properties in five island locations.

The appointment of the Trustees is made by CTJ and confirmed by the States of Jersey Housing Minister.

Funding for projects is provided by our bankers on a commercial basis. The money is borrowed over a period of 25 years. We receive a subsidy from the States relating to the interest rates payable by the Trust. For further financial information, please see the latest set of accounts available to download under the Annual Report and Accounts heading.

We aim to act at all times in a fair and compassionate manner, but are mindful too that we have to repay the loans from the banks that have allowed us to acquire, build or refurbish our properties.

The Trustees

CTJ is run by a board of up to nine Trustees. All the Trustees are professional people who give their time to the affairs of the Trust voluntarily. The present Trustees are as follows:

Chairman – Advocate Charles Thacker succeeded Diarmuid Lynes in March, 2017.  He has been a Trustee since 1995.  He is a Jersey Advocate and a Partner of Viberts, as well as the former President of the Law Society of Jersey.

Treasurer – Hugh Lawton is a Certified Accountant, Finance and Office Director for Atrium European Real Estate Ltd and former MD of American Express’ treasury operations in Jersey.  He was appointed in October 2014.

Secretary – Advocate Zoe Blomfield is the Managing Partner of Viberts.  Viberts deal with all property related matters on behalf of the Trust.  Zoe is an Advocate and became a Trustee in December 2015 and will bring a wealth of experience in dealing with personal law and social issues.

Andrew Jelley is a retired architect and advises us on building matters and has been a Trustee since 1995.  In his professional capacity his firm has acted in the building of our houses.

Angela Le Sueur is a retired teacher who has been a Trustee since 2001 and was appointed because of her interest in social justice and fair housing for all.

John Scally is a retired Chartered Surveyor with over 40 years’ experience of the property world and joined the Trust in April 2009. He is Non-Executive Director of an energy company, Executive Director of Caritas Jersey and Chair of Beaulieu Convent School Trustees.

Mike Larbalestier is a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Institute for Securities and Investment.  He has been an Investment Manager/Director locally since 1984, working for Rossborough Financial, Abacus, Morgan Grenfell, and Quilter Goodison.  He joined the Trust in February 2012.

James Reed was appointed as a Trustee in November 2015.  He is owner and Managing Director of Beau Pre Farm Limited, a company which currently owns and manages both residential and commercial property.  After spending 12 years in the States, James has gained a wide range of experience in all aspects of government which will be very useful in his new role.

Stephen Ogborn has been in Jersey since 2008 and heads up the Commercial Banking division of Lloyds Bank International.  Stephen was appointed Trustee in December 2017 and is particularly involved with the financing arrangements of the Trust.

Simon Barrows is a Chartered Electrical Engineer and is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Building Services Engineers.  Simon is the Head Mechanical and Electrical Manager for Legendre Construction.  He has a wealth of experience within the construction industry and is passionate about sustainability.